Where NC’s congressional delegation stands on electoral certification

The U.S. Capitol as seen on Tuesday, Dec. 29, 2020, in Washington. (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Wednesday, Jan. 6, the 117th Congress meets in a joint session to certify the electoral college results. In public statements, over 100 Republicans in both the House and Senate are objecting due to claims of election irregularities. 

On Saturday, Jan. 2, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz and 10 other senators released a statement saying they “intend to vote on Jan. 6 to reject the electors from disputed states as not ‘regularly given’ and ‘lawfully certified’” until an emergency audit of voting irregularities from disputed states is completed. 

The senators’ statement followed previous objections raised by Missouri Sen. Josh Hawley and Alabama Rep. Mo Brooks, both Republicans.

In past certification votes by Congress, including most recently in 2017, 2005, and 2001, Democratic members of Congress have voiced similar objections. 

Rep. Alma Adams (NC-12): For certification 

Rep. Dan Bishop (NC-09): No public statement

Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13): Objecting 

“Yes, I plan to object on January 6th. MILLIONS of Americans saw what I saw: Voter safeguards removed, no signature verification, outdated voter rolls, ballots accepted after Election Day, poll watchers denied access. #WeThePeople will keep fighting for @realDonaldTrump” said Budd.

Rep. G.K. Butterfield (NC-01): For certification 

Rep. Madison Cawthorn (NC-11): Objecting

“The right to vote in a free and fair election is the cornerstone of our Republic. Attempts to undermine this strike at the very heart of a representative government “of, by, and for the People.” I will not be silent,” said Cawthorn.

Rep. Virginia Foxx (NC-05): No public statement

Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-08): Objecting

“This week, I will object to certifying the Electoral College votes of certain states that violated their own election laws, contrary to Article II of the Constitution,” said Hudson in a statement.

Rep. Kathy Manning (NC-06): For certification 

Rep. Patrick McHenry (NC-10): No public statement

Rep. Greg Murphy (NC-03): No public statement

Rep. David Price (NC-04): For certification  

Rep. Deborah Ross (NC-02): For certification 

Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07): No public statement

Sen. Richard Burr: For certification 

According to Politico, Burr flatly said “no” Friday, Jan. 1 when asked if he would join Hawley in objecting.

Sen. Thom Tillis: For certification

“He’s presumptive president (referring to Biden). But I don’t want to discount valid, legal disputes that’ll be settled over the next couple weeks,” Tillis said on Dec. 14.

The list will be updated when members make public statements via social media or their websites.